HDLC 1130 Barton Street East, Suite 210, Hamilton, Ontario L8H 7P9 • 905 547-2944 FAX 905 547-2865

An urgent call to action for Hamiltonians concerned about including "buy local" in city's purchasing policies


The Audit, Finance and Administration Committee of Hamilton City Council has approved a staff recommended procurement policy for the city that specifically states that the city will not give any preference to purchases based on the geographic location of the vendor or supplier or the Canadian, Ontario, or Hamilton/local content of the goods and services.

Over two and one half years ago, a similar policy was referred back to staff for consultation with the community, including the Labour Council, our affiliates, and other unions, after Labour Council, the CAW, and the Steelworkers raised the issue of Canadian and local sourcing of goods and services required by the city. The Labour Council has not been consulted at all.

On December 14th, City Council will consider the recommendations from the committee. We urgently request that everyone who is interested in preserving jobs in Hamilton use every means of communication – email, telephone calls, social media – to tell your city councillor to refer the policy back to the committee to allow for public input on creating a buy local provision.

Contact your councillor and the mayor today.

Ward
Councillor
E-mail
Telephone
Mayor
Bob Bratina
mayor@hamilton.ca
905-546-4200
1
Brian McHattie
Brian.McHattie@hamilton.ca
905-546-2416
2
Jason Farr
Jason.Farr@hamilton.ca
905-546-2711
3
Bernie Morelli
Bernie.Morelli@hamilton.ca
905-546-2702
4
Sam Merulla
Sam.Merulla@hamilton.ca
905-546-4512
5
Chad Collins
Chad.Collins@hamilton.ca
905-546-2716
6
Tom Jackson
Tom.Jackson@hamilton.ca
905-546-2707
7
Scott Duvall
Scott.Duvall@hamilton.ca
905-546-2706
8
Terry Whitehead
Terry.Whitehead@hamilton.ca
905-546-2712
9
Brad Clark
Brad.Clark@hamilton.ca
905-546-2703
10
Maria Pearson
Maria.Pearson@hamilton.ca
905-546-4513
11
Brenda Johnson
Brenda.Johnson@hamilton.ca
905-546-4513
12
Lloyd Ferguson
Lloyd.Ferguson@hamilton.ca
905-546-2704
13
Russ Powers
Russ.Powers@hamilton.ca
905-546-2714
14
Robert Pasuta
Robert.Pasuta@hamilton.ca
905-546-2705
15
Judi Partridge
Judi.Partridge@hamilton.ca
905-546-2713

See the document below for more information.

Related Files

Powered by Labourware