Who We Are

This is the on-line home of the labour movement in Hamilton. Browse here to learn about the Labour Council and the important contributions that working folk and their unions make to our city.

The Hamilton and District Labour Council is the voice of working people in Hamilton. By pursuing jobs, peace and security, we seek to build a community that values human dignity and basic fairness.

Labour Council is:

  • an assembly of delegates elected by local union affiliates of the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC). An executive council, elected by the delegates for a two-year term, helps the labour council to shape its agenda and then implement its decisions. Committees, also elected, assist the executive by reviewing issues, hearing delegations, proposing actions and organizing events, e.g. the annual Labour Day Parade.
  • an umbrella group that brings together local unions so that collectively we can better represent our members, defend free collective bargaining, assist the unorganized and generally improve the quality of life in our city.


  • actively promote the concerns of our members about social, economic, environmental and workplace issues to governments, community decision-makers and the general public.
  • actively advocate for health and safety reform, worker training and labour-specific education.

Executive Officers

Anthony Marco (OSSTF) President
Jay Edington (SEIU) 1st Vice-President
Stephanie Trepanier (ETFO) 2nd Vice-President
Shideh Houshmandi (ETFO) Treasurer
Tom Atterton (OPSEU) Secretary
Ritch Whyman (SEIU) Sergeant at Arms

Executives at Large

Gillian Surette-Robinson OPSEU
Richard Palkowski OECTA
Mary-Ellen Campbell CUPE
Kim O'Hearn CUPE
Henry Evans-Tenbrinke CUPE
Shannon Horner-Sheppard USW
Jordyn Perrault-Laird CUPE
Rosa Zetler OPSEU
Susan Lucek COPE


Amalgamated Transit Union

  • ATU 107

Canadian Office & Professional Employees

  • COPE 343
  • COPE 527

Canadian Union of Public Employees

  • CUPE 932
  • CUPE 1000
  • CUPE 1404
  • CUPE 1281
  • CUPE 3396
  • CUPE 3906
  • CUPE 3943
  • CUPE 4153
  • CUPE 4207
  • CUPE 5167
  • CUPE 7800

Canadian Union of Postal Workers

  • CUPW 548

Elementary Teachers of Ontario


Canadian Federation of Musicians

  • HMG 294 (AFM)

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

  • IAMAW 1295

International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees

  • IATSE 129

International Brotherhood Of Boilermakers

  • Local 128

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

  • Local 105

International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers

  • Local 95

International Union of Operating Engineers

  • Local 772
  • Local 793

Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association

  • Hamilton-Wentworth (Elementary)

Ontario Public Service Employees Union

  • OPSEU 281
  • OPSEU 201
  • OPSEU 202
  • OPSEU 206
  • OPSEU 240
  • OPSEU 241
  • OPSEU 262
  • OPSEU 287

Ontario Secondary School Teachers Federation

  • OSSTF 21 T/OT
  • OSSTF 21 ESL
  • OSSTF 32 Unit 64

Public Service Alliance of Canada

  • PSAC Hamilton

United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing, Pipefitting and Sprinkler Fitting Industry

  • UA 67

Service Employees International Union

  • SEIU Healthcare
  • SEIU 2

Society of United Professionals

  • Local 160


  • Local 879

United Food and Commercial Workers Union

  • UFCW 232
  • UFCW 175/633
  • UFCW 633

United Steel, Paper and Forestry, Rubber, Manufacturing, Energy, Allied Industrial and Service Workers International Union

  • USW 1005
  • USW 14162
  • USW 16506
  • USW 2308
  • USW 4153
  • USW 5328
  • USW 6920
  • USW 7135
  • USW 8782
  • USW 8925

Workers United Canada

  • Local 210C


The trustees shall conduct an audit of the books and accounts of the Council semi-annually as of June and December based on the actual verification of the Treasurer’s records as outlined on the Canadian Labour Congress Audit Report form. They shall see that all audit reports are posted for the information of all delegates and copies forwarded to the Canadian Labour Congress and Ontario Federation of Labour.

It shall be the duty of the Trustees to see that the Treasurer deposits all monies received in such bank(s) as the Council designates. The Trustees shall see that the Secretary of the Council notifies the bank(s) of the names of the officers duly authorized to sign cheques for withdrawals on the account and that all disbursements are made by cheque.


  • Mary Ellen Campbell (CUPE) Term ends December 2020
  • Steve Fox (IBEW)  Term ends December 2021
  • Michelle Konior (HWETL) Term ends December 2022


All workgroups meet at the Labour Council offices, 1130 Barton St. East, unless otherwise noted. During this time of emergency restrictions, workgroups meet through video or telephone conferencing. Contact the appropriate workgroup chair or coordinator (noted below) or email amarco@rogers.com for connection information.

For details on upcoming meetings, please check in the meetings section or email the contact below.

Committee Contacts: 

Health & Safety and Wellness (Gillian Surette-Robinson)gsurette-robinson@uwhh.ca

Human Rights (Ritch Whyman): ritch09@gmail.com

Political Action: (Malcolm Buchanan): macbuchanan@rogers.com

Special Events: (Anthony Marco): amarco@rogers.com

Women’s Equity: (Stephanie Trepanier): stephanie_pos_tre@hotmail.com

Young Workers: (Erin Carr and Rosa Zetler): hdlcyoungworkers@gmail.com